Of those three, I’ve only really spent a lot of time with Darksiders II, which is an excellent third-person action game that liberally steals from lots of other good games. It’s rammed with wall-running adventures in a world with mountain-sized eyeballs, tall dwarves, and a nice horse. It’s great, and it really shouldn’t be free at any point, but there you go.

I didn’t play the first Darksiders, and I probably never will, but that shouldn’t stop you. After all, how will you know exactly what’s going on with the sequel without playing it? I used Wikipedia to discover that one of the four horsemen, War, is on trial for starting a war. That’s the sort of set-up I can support.

Then there’s Steep*. I confess I’d forgotten it ever existed. Ubisoft’s multiplayer, open-world snowboard game didn’t seem to capture a wide audience, but I do have friends who loved their time getting piste. The snow effects are pretty great.

You have a week to grab these. *Disclaimer: Steep was developed by Ubisoft Annecy, which is where my BFF works. Don’t worry, he didn’t work on that game. But the minute I start writing about The Division 2 is when you should all start booing.